1868 Hayward Earthquake Alliance Logo

1868 Hayward Earthquake Alliance

Activities & Events

The Music of Earthquakes at The California Symphony

U.C. Berkeley Seismological Laboratory and Lesher Center for the Arts

The California Symphony, located in Walnut Creek, offers an exciting program on May 4 & 6 featuring a world premiere and a symphonic classic. Bay Area composer and electronica artist Mason Bates, known for his innovative combination of orchestral sonorities and electronics, explores the world beneath our feet in "Music From Underground Spaces." The final movement of the work ("Tectonic Plates") uses actual earthquake recordings processed by Peggy Hellweg of the Berkeley Seismological Laboratory. Also on the program is the much-loved "Carmina Burana" by Carl Orff.


May 4 @ 4pm & May 6 @ 7:30pm


Lesher Center for the Arts
1601 Civic Drive
Walnut Creek CA 94596


Peggy Hellweg of the Berkeley Seismological Laboratory, who provided beautiful earthquake recordings for use in this orchestral piece, suggested I send info about the event to 1868Alliance. My apologies if this is not considered relevant!


general public

« Alliance Member Events Index